wvo on the supercheap. or ghettowvo.

WVO filtering, WVO conversion information, biodiesel fuel issues, etc.

Moderator: BCDelica

westbound nate
Member's Photo Album: http://www.delica.ca/Photos/
Vehicle: 91 mitubishi delica

wvo on the supercheap. or ghettowvo.

Post by westbound nate »

Hi delica board people!
I've had my delica for, hmm... about 10 months, and have had the intention of converting it to run on veggie oil since day one,
but i'm broke and cheap. I've been scrounging the parts nessecesary, setting up my filteration system, collecting and filtering grease, and reading loads.
so i wanted to give a post here, as i'm pretty sure i now have everything i need, and thought you all may have some suggestions or tips as i go.
I've never done anything like this before. My girlfriend just showed me how to do my own oil changes two months ago. I'm fairly mechanicly minded though, and feel like the hours and hours i've spent researching this subject will do me at least some good.
so I'll start with a parts rundown...

I have a marine tank. got it second hand at the sydney boaters exchange for 55 bucks. hopefully this will be good.

i have a bunch of hose that i got at good nieghbours in duncan for five bucks, i'm hoping to use it for coolant heating the lines and tank, probably not for fuel though. i'm guessing that would be bad?

i have pipe insulation, that i got out of a recycling bin. it's brand new and i have about 30 feet of it!

heres a milk crate filled with stuff. I got it at the pender island free store. it had a sign that said "veggie oil conversion kit" so i picked it up.

in the crate there's a heat exchanger...

a 12 volt heated oil filter

an inline pump

this thing, wich i asume swiched the fuel line from diesel to oil?

a switch box... with the plug cut off.

this thing, that i haven't figured out yet.

two of these things?

and a bundle of wires.

i still need to run to c-tire and get some fuel line, but i think that's it! ...?