Big ol' post on keeping your diesel running cleanly...

Topics may eventually be moved to other Delica Canada forums.

Moderators: BCDelica, mark

tonydca
Member's Photo Album: http://www.delica.ca/Photos/
Vehicle: 95 L400 Exceed - yeah, baby!

Big ol' post on keeping your diesel running cleanly...

Post by tonydca »

I've been developing a history of sticking various chemicals in the van to see if they help or hurt:

http://www.delica.ca/forum/my-acetone-r ... -8758.html
http://www.delica.ca/forum/seafoam-discussion-9722.html
http://www.delica.ca/forum/i-need-your- ... 12046.html

Lately I've been looking more at cleaning my engine guts, inside and out, and at Seafoam in particular. I do a lot of short-trip city driving that can be really hard on diesels like ours.

So I did some reading & tinkering, and here is a great long post on what I found out about helping to keep your engine running cleanly. Enjoy!

Disclaimer: I am not a Chemical Engineer, I just like to fiddle around with stuff like this and try to understand what is going on. Follow my advice at your own risk... :shock:

Executive Summary:

For a less messy, more hassle-free way to clean your injectors/cylinder-interiors than Seafoam in the fuel filter, consider buying some ultra-pure Isopropyl Alcohol (IPA) and use it in your fuel tank instead of Seafoam. It's cheaper and depending on your engine condition, it might just do the job you need.

Do use Seafoam in your crankcase before you change the oil/filter to clean out deposits inside the engine - it does a great job. But do it cold and do it gently.

A Bit of Chemistry first..

According to the manufacturer, Seafoam is 4 parts #1 diesel fuel, 2 parts naphtha (Coleman fuel) and 1 part Isopropyl (Rubbing) alcohol (IPA).

Diesel fuel and naphtha are distilled from the same dead dinosaurs as crankcase oil, gasoline, and other petrochemicals. Chemically, it is made up of Carbon and Hydrogen atoms.